I MINA'BENTE *NUEBI* NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) REGULAR SESSION

Resolution No. 216 (LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

B.J.F Cruz

J.P. Guthertz, DPA

R.J. Respicio

Frank F. Blas, Jr.

Edward J.B. Calvo

James V. Espaldon

Mark Forbes

Frank T. Ishizaki

J. A. Lujan

Tina Rose Muña Barnes

A. B. Palacios, Sr.

v. c. pangelinan

Dr. David L.G. Shimizu

Ray Tenorio

J. T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending and congratulating the incoming and outgoing Officers and Board of Directors of the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam on the occasion of the Association's Forty-eighth (48th) Anniversary Celebration and Induction Ceremony.

- 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN
- 2 GUÅHAN:

- 1 WHEREAS, established in 1962, the Filipino Ladies Association of
- 2 Guam (FLAG) has for many years contributed to our island community; and
- 3 **WHEREAS**, the FLAG has continually supported the academic
- 4 endeavors of our young people, such as through its generosity in funding
- 5 scholarships for students each semester at the University of Guam; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the FLAG has also assisted financially the American Cancer
- 7 Society, Sanctuary Incorporated, the Carmelite Sisters, the Alee Shelter, and
- 8 Erica's House; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the FLAG has beautified and commemorated Guam by
- 10 raising funds for the Statue of Pope John Paul II and the Ypao Beach
- 11 Sampaguita Pavilion; and
- 12 WHEREAS, through their tireless effort, the FLAG has facilitated
- 13 medical treatment for citizens in need; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the outgoing 2008 Officers and Board of Director members
- of the FLAG includes: Gloria M. Baguinon, President; Maricon Venoza, Vice
- 16 President; Romarica E. Basa, Recording Secretary; Ria Custodio,
- 17 Corresponding Secretary; Fe Singh, Treasurer; and Board of Director members
- 18 Liz Apelo, Patricia Birosel, Coring Edusma, Nilda Estampador, Annie Guzom-
- 19 Soto, Aida Miranda, Sabina Tamondong, Lourdes Pamintel and Terry Sama;
- 20 and
- 21 **WHEREAS**, the incoming 2009 Officers and Board of Director members
- 22 of the FLAG include: Fe Singh, President; Annie Hernandez-Lumba, Vice

- 1 President; Chet Neri, Recording Secretary; Patricia Birosel, Corresponding
- 2 Secretary; Ria Custudio, Treasurer; Annie Guzom-Soto, Assistant Treasurer;
- 3 and Board of Director members, Aurora P. Leonen, Rose Hidalgo, Coring
- 4 Edusma, Sabina Tamondong, Aida Miranda, Terry Sana, Lourdes Pamintel,
- 5 Leonila Ronquillo, Lorie Castelo and Maritess Barrogo; and now, therefore, be
- 6 it
- 7 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does
- 8 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the
- 9 Filipino Ladies Association of Guam on its innumerable contributions to
- 10 Guam, and congratulates and commends its outgoing and newly-elected
- officers and members of its Board of Directors; and be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the
- 13 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be
- 14 thereafter transmitted to Ms. Fe Singh, Incoming 2009 President of the Filipino
- 15 Ladies Association of Guam; to Ms. Gloria M. Baguinon, 2008 President of the
- 16 Filipino Ladies Association of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho,
- 17 I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 30TH DAY OF DECEMBER 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, ED.D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature